Award Nomination Guidelines

The Herman Bouwer Award is given out at the Biennial Symposium on Managed Aquifer Recharge (BSMAR) to the person or agency that has significantly advanced the understanding or utilization of MAR.

Nominations must be submitted by July 17, 2020.

Nominations that are received after this date are ineligible for BSMAR 17 but may be retained for consideration for future BSMAR symposia. Sitting Directors and Branch Officers of the Groundwater Resources Association of California (GRA) and the Arizona Hydrological Society (AHS) are ineligible to be nominated for the award.

Please provide a detailed explanation of why the nominee or agency should be considered for the award.  Supporting documents, such as; resume, newspaper clippings or articles, letters of support, published articles, and project reviews are welcome.

Submit nominations to

Herman Bouwer Award Nomination Form (docx)